Select Page

Charlotte Area Schools

 

Schools are often an important factor when selling/buying a home. Mecklenburg County offers several educational options for families.

  • Charlotte-Mecklenburg Public Schools
  • Charlotte-Mecklenburg Magnet Schools
  • Private Schools
  • Charter Schools

Learn more about all schools in the Charlotte area at GreatSchools.

 

Charlotte-Mecklenburg Public Schools

Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools (CMS) is located in the Charlotte, North Carolina region providing education to more than 144,000 students in kindergarten through 12th grade in 164 schools throughout Mecklenburg County. CMS also educates, supports and meets the needs of students with learning and physical disabilities.

To find out more about Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools and specifically school assignments based on address, log onto their web site at http://www.cms.k12.nc.us or contact the Board of Education Office at 980-343-5139.

For current “report cards” on each school system, visit NC School Report Cards with information on class size, school enrollment, student performance, teachers, etc.

 

Charlotte-Mecklenburg Magnet Schools

Magnet Program Schools are a part of the Charlotte-Mecklenburg School System.  Various Elementary Schools, Middle Schools, and High Schools in the district have been designated as “Magnet” Schools.  A Magnet School will specialize in a specific area of study in addition to the traditional curriculum.  For more information on individual programs, visit the CMS site at http://www.cms.k12.nc.us/cmsdepartments/ci/MagnetPrograms/Pages/default.aspx.

Currently, the following Magnet programs are offered by CMS:

 

Private Schools 

There are many private school options in the Charlotte area.  Below are the area’s largest private schools. For details about other private schools, go to www.ncdnpe.org.

Mecklenburg County Private Schools

  • Back Creek Christian Academy: 1827 Back Creek Church Road, Charlotte. 704-549-4101. www.bccaschool.org. Grades: Transitional K-9
  • Bible Baptist Christian School: 2724 Margaret Wallace Road, Matthews. 704-535-1694. www.bbcscolts.com. Grades: Preschool-12
  • Carmel Christian School: 1145 Pineville-Matthews Road, Matthews. 704-849-9723. www.carmelchristian.org. Grades: K-12
  • Charlotte Islamic Academy: 4301 Shamrock Drive, Charlotte. 704-537-1772. www.ciacademy.us. Grades: K-12
  • Charlotte Jewish Day School: 5007 Providence Road, Charlotte. 704-366-4558. www.cjdschool.org. Grades: K-5
  • Charlotte Latin School: 9502 Providence Road, Charlotte. 704-846-1100. www.charlottelatin.org. Grades: Transitional K-12
  • Charlotte Preparatory School: 212 Boyce Road, Charlotte. 704-366-5994. www.charlotteprep.com. Grades: Pre-K-8
  • Charlotte United Christian Academy: 7640 Wallace Road, Charlotte. 704-537-0331. www.cucawarriors.com. Grades: Preschool-12
  • Countryside Montessori Schools: Toddler-Kindergarten, 4755 Prosperity Church Road; First through sixth grade, 9026 Mallard Creek Road; Seventh through twelfth grade, 4125 Johnston Oehler Road, Charlotte. 704-503-6000. www.countrysidemontessorischools.org. Grades: Preschool-12
  • Covenant Day School: 800 Fullwood Lane, Matthews. 704-847-2385. www.covenantday.org. Grades: Transitional K-12
  • Davidson Day School: 750 Jetton St., Davidson. 704-237-5200. www.davidsonday.org. Grades: Preschool-12
  • Hickory Grove Baptist Christian School: 6050 Hickory Grove Road, Charlotte. 704-531-4008. www.hgbcs.org. Grades: Transitional K-12
  • Charlotte Catholic High: 7702 Pineville-Matthews Road, Charlotte. 704-543-1217. www.gocougars.org. Grades: 9-12
  • Holy Trinity Catholic Middle: 3100 Park Road, Charlotte. 704-527-7822. www.htcms.org. Grades: 6-8
  • Our Lady of The Assumption: 4225 Shamrock Drive, Charlotte. 704-531-0067. www.olainfo.com. Grades: Pre-K-8
  • St. Matthew: 11525 Elm Lane, Charlotte. 704-544-2070. www.st-matts.com. Grades: Transitional K-5
  • Mountain Island Day School: 8101 Fallsdale Drive, Charlotte. 704-391-5516. www.midschool.org. Grades: Transitional K-9
  • New Life Christian Academy: 1337 Samuel St., Charlotte. 704-370-3477. Grades: Pre-K-6
  • Northside Christian Academy: 333 Jeremiah Blvd., Charlotte. Secondary school, 704-596-4074. Elementary school, 704-596-3365. Academy for Early Learning, 704-598-9665. www.ncaknights.com. Grades: Preschool-12
  • Omni Montessori School: 9536 Blakeney-Heath Road, Charlotte. 704-541-1326. www.omni-montessori.org. Grades: Pre-K-9
  • Palisades Episcopal School: 13120 Grand Palisades Pkwy., Charlotte. 704-583-1825. www.pescharlotte.org. Grades: Junior K-8
  • Providence Day School: 5800 Sardis Road, Charlotte. 704-887-6000. www.providenceday.org. Grades: Transitional K-12
  • Southlake Christian Academy: 13820 Hager’s Ferry Road, Huntersville. 704-949-2200. www.southlakechristian.org. Grades: Junior K-12
  • Trinity Episcopal School: 750 E. Ninth St., Charlotte. 704-358-8101. www.tescharlotte.org. Grades: K-8
  • United Faith Christian Academy: 8617 Providence Road, Charlotte. 704-541-1742. www.ufca.org. Grades: Transitional K-12
  • Victory Christian Center School: Preschool and elementary, 7224 Old Pineville Road, Charlotte; Middle and High school, 1501 Carrier Drive, Charlotte. 704-391-7339. www.vccskings.com. Grades: Preschool-12

Cabarrus County Private Schools

  • Cannon School: 5801 Poplar Tent Road, Concord. 704-786-8171. www.cannonschool.org. Grades: Junior K-12
  • Covenant Classical School: 3200 Patrick Henry Drive, Concord. 704-792-1854. www.covenantclassical.org. Grades: Junior K-12
  • Concord First Assembly Academy: 154 Warren C. Coleman Blvd., Concord. 704-793-4750. http://www.cfaacademy.org/. Grades: Preschool-12

Gaston County Private Schools

  • First Wesleyan Christian School: 208-A S. Church St., Gastonia. 704-865-9823. www.fwcsfwcs.org. Grades: Preschool-8
  • Gaston Christian School: 1625 Lowell Bethesda Road, Gastonia. 704-349-5020. www.gastonchristian.org. Grades: Pre-K-12
  • Gaston Day School: 2001 Gaston Day School Road, Gastonia. 704-864-7744. www.gastonday.org. Grades: Pre-K-12

Union County Private Schools

  • Arborbrook Christian Academy: 4823 Waxhaw-Indian Trail Road, Matthews. 704-821-9952. www.arborbrook.org. Grades: Junior K-12
  • Metrolina Christian Academy: 732 Indian Trail-Fairview Road, Indian Trail. 704-882-3375. www.metrolinachristian.org. Grades: Junior K-12
  • Tabernacle Christian School: 2900 Walkup Ave., Monroe. 704-283-4395. www.tcsmonroe.com. Grades: Preschool-12.

York County, S.C

  • Westminster Catawba Christian: 2650 India Hook Road, Rock Hill. 803-366-4119. www.wccs.org. Grades: Pre-K-12

 

Charter Schools

CMS offers an extensive range of magnet programs in 37 of its schools for students who have interest and ability in specific areas.

For more info on N.C. charter schools: www.dpi.state.nc.us/charterschools; S.C. charter schools: www.sccharterschools.org.

Mecklenburg County Charter Schools

  1. Aristotle Preparatory Academy: 2461 Arty Ave., Charlotte. 704-412-1086. aristotle.teamcfa.org. Grades K-4
  2. Bradford Preparatory School: 2502 Salome Church Road, Charlotte. www.bradfordprepschool.org. Grades K-8
  3. Charlotte Choice Charter: 1000 Anderson St., Charlotte. 980-272-8308. www.charlottechoicecharter.org. Grades K-6
  4. Charlotte Learning Academy: 701 Scaleybark Road, Charlotte. 980-355-2077. www.charlottelearningacademy.org. Grades 6-10
  5. Charlotte Secondary: 8601 McAlpine Park Drive, Charlotte. 704-295-0137. www.charlottesecondary.org. Grades 6-11
  6. Commonwealth High: 5112 Central Ave., Charlotte. 704-899-4998. www.commonwealthhs.com. Grades 9-12
  7. Community Charter School: 510 S. Torrence St., Charlotte. 704-377-3180. www.charlottecommunitycharter.com. Grades K-5
  8. Community School of Davidson: Elementary and middle school, 565 Griffith St., Davidson. 704-896-6262. High school, 404 Armour St., Davidson. 704- 897-8061. www.csdnc.org. Grades K-12
  9. Concrete Roses STEM Academy: 8310 McAlpine Park Drive, Charlotte. 513-967-5280. www.concreterosesnc.com. Grades K-9
  10. Corvian Community School: 9501 David Taylor Drive, Charlotte. 704-717-7550. www.corvian.org. Grades K-4
  11. Crossroads Charter High: 5500 N. Tryon St., Charlotte. 704-597-5100. www.crossroadscharter.org. Grades 9-12
  12. Entrepreneur High: 5745 Central Ave., Charlotte. 704-906-2900. www.entrepreneurhighschool.org. Grades 9-10
  13. Invest Collegiate: 2001 Suttle Ave., Charlotte. 704-900-4226. http://investcollegiate.org/. Grades K-7
  14. Kennedy School: 617 N. Summit Ave, Charlotte. 704-688-2939. www.kennedycharter.org. Grades K-12
  15. KIPP Charlotte: 931 Wilann Drive, Charlotte. 704-537-2044. www.kippcharlotte.org. Grades 5-8
  16. Lake Norman Charter: Middle school, 12435 Old Statesville Road, Huntersville. 704-948-8600. High school, 12701 Old Statesville Road, Huntersville, 704-875-3389. www.lncharter.org. Grades 5-12
  17. Metrolina Regional Scholars Academy: 5225 Seventy-Seven Center Drive, Charlotte. 704-503-1112. www.scholarsacademy.org. Grades K-8
  18. Pioneer Springs Community School: 9200 Bob Beatty Road, Charlotte. 704-494-0777. http://pioneersprings.org/. Grades K-3
  19. Queens Grant Community School: 6400 Matthews-Mint Hill Road, Mint Hill. 704-573-6611. http://queensgrant.heritageacademies.com. Grades K-8
  20. Queens Grant High School: 10323 Idlewild Road, Matthews. 704-545-0736. http://qgphs.com. Grades 9-12
  21. Socrates Academy: 3909 Weddington Road, Matthews. 704-321-1711. www.socratesacademy.us. Grades K-8
  22. Sugar Creek Charter: 4101 N. Tryon St., Charlotte. 704-509-5470. www.thesugarcreek.org. Grades K-9
  23. Thunderbird Preparatory: 17609 Old Statesville Road, Cornelius. 704-412-1024. www.thunderbirdprep.org. Grades K-4
  24. United Community School: 5309 Idlewild Road North, Charlotte. 980-819-0555. www.ucsnc.org. Grades K-2.

Cabarrus County Charter Schools

  1. A.C.E. Academy: 7807 Caldwell Road, Harrisburg. 888-244-6511. www.aceacademycharter.org. Grades K-5
  1. Cabarrus Charter Academy: 355 Poplar Crossing NW, Concord. 704-789-2500. www.cabarruscharter.org. Grades K-7
  1. Carolina International School: 8810 Hickory Ridge Road, Harrisburg. 704-455-3847. www.carolinainternationalschool.org. Grades K-10

Gaston County Charter Schools

  1. Mountain Island Charter: 13440 Lucia Riverbend Hwy., Mount Holly. 704-827-8840. www.micharter.org. Grades K-11
  1. Piedmont Community: Elementary, 119 E. Second Ave., Gastonia. 704-853-2428. Secondary, 2970 S. New Hope Road, Gastonia. 704-349-4640. http://pccharter.teamcfa.org. Grades K-12.

Iredell County Charter Schools

  1. American Renaissance: Elementary, 132 E. Broad St., Statesville. 704-924-8870. Middle, 217 S. Center St., Statesville. 704-878-6009. www.arsnc.org. Grades K-8
  1. Langtree Charter Academy: 154 Foundation Court, Mooresville. 704-705-1698. www.langtreecharter.org. Grades K-6
  1. Pine Lake Preparatory: 1639 Mecklenburg Hwy., Mooresville. 704-237-5300. www.pinelakeprep.org. Grades K-12
  1. Success Institute: 1424 No. 2 Rickert St., Statesville. 704-881-0441. www.successinstitutecharter.com. Grades K-8.

Lincoln County Charter School

  1. Lincoln Charter: Lincolnton campus, grades K-9, 133 Eagle Nest Road, Lincolnton. 704-736-9888. Denver campus, grades K-12, 7834 Galway Lane, Denver. 704-483-6611. www.lincolncharter.org.

Union County Charter School

  1. Union Academy: Upper campus, 675 N. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Monroe. 704-238-8883. Lower campus, 3828 Old Charlotte Hwy, Monroe 704-283-5678 www.unionacademy.org. Gr. K-12

York County Charter School

  1. York Preparatory Academy: 1047 Golden Gate Court, Rock Hill. 803-324-4400. www.yorkprepsc.org. Grades K-11.